Welcome to TheOhioOutdoors
Wanting to join the rest of our members? Login or sign up today!
Login / Join

Jake's Journal

Jake_C

I'm at work on a morning I would rather be in a tree stand. With that being said, I'm going to document my season so far, starting with my spring scouting, summer scouting, and my season as it progresses.

This will be my first season hunting strictly public land and I'm no Booner hunter, and I'm fairly new to the game of targeting bucks. I also am not using trail cameras this year so it may be a boring thread but I hope to document all sightings, weather, mistakes made, wins, losses, etc... and maybe have something I can reference in future seasons.

Jake_C

I've been consistently involved with archery for about 13 years and hunting off on and on for 8. I've taken some deer with my bow and 1 with a gun. Never a buck, though.

Last year, during the rut, I was fortunate enough to be invited to hunt my friend's family farm for a day. I packed in with my climber, found a decent looking spot near a field, and settled in. About an hour later, I had the first of nearly a dozen doe start trickling through. It wasn't long after that, a 4 point came cruising through with his nose to the ground. Until this point in the year I had been trying to hunt the local public land and had only had one deer in shooting range and less than a dozen in sight. Seeing all of these deer had me pumped! 20 minutes later I heard some rustling and sticks snapping in the distance. I had forgotten my binoculars in the truck so I couldn't see what was going on down the hollow.

The noise started getting closer until I was able to make out the form of a buck rubbing his antlers on a small tree and then making his way toward me. My heart immediately started pounding and I stood up so I would be ready to make a shot if one presented it's self.