Welcome to TheOhioOutdoors
Wanting to join the rest of our members? Login or sign up today!
Login / Join

my food "to-do" list

Sgt Fury

Sgt. Spellchecker
59D9A93A-0AB4-475F-925D-B52DA6D391BF.jpeg
ADA159FB-25F7-4DC0-B0FC-C26B879FF429.jpeg

I googled it and all I can say is that I’m always the last to know!😂

Jamie

Ohio
I was told they have temp gauges that go into the meat and there is an app that you can use on your smartphone to monitor the temps. He says they are designed to tolerate the heat. You don’t even have to get out of the pool! F’ing technology! 😂

lol, well, that is only about half true. you have to know how to operate your equipment, and an accurate thermometer in your smoke chamber and one in the product sure is a big help. trust me, after nearly 20 years of routinely smoking, smoker cooking, grilling, etc., I'm still an amateur by every metric. learn something every time I burn wood or charcoal for cooking. this a journey, not a destination. the sooner you get started, the better, Sgt. tick-tock, brother. ;)

Quantum673

Black Hat Cajun
Supporting Member
Until the auger quits b/c it has an electrical issue. A guy I work with has been fighting that for a while. In addition to the temp gage read out being way off.

I will deal with that when/if it happens. Until then I will enjoy.

My probe temps are spot on. I always double check temps with my manual thermometer. My cooking temps are within 5 degrees on what the digital read out says and what the mechanical one in the lid says. The lid is always 5 degrees higher. I suspect the difference in locations is the biggest reason for that. Digital is at the cooking grates the mech is in the lid.

For the amateur like me the pellet grill is a good starter.

Jamie

Ohio