Welcome to TheOhioOutdoors
Wanting to join the rest of our members? Login or sign up today!
Login / Join

What is your favorite seed spreader?

I am going to order a new utv seed spreader and was looking at the spintech and the swisher spreader. Anyone ever tried these? I know i want to get one that mounts to my hitch. I tried to find some reviews on these 2 on line and couldn't find much.

jagermeister

Dignitary Member
Supporting Member
Ohio
No experience with the two you described but I've been running one of these TurfEx TS300 spreaders for a couple years and have no complaints. https://www.turfexproducts.com/equi...rs-sprayers/equipment-mounted-spreaders/ts300

I think they're all going to be decent as long as you're not putting it through the rigors of commercial use. But the one thing I'd say is stick with a poly hopper. Metal hoppers, unless stainless, are going to rust out over time if you spread fertilizer and don't clean/oil properly.

No experience with the two you described but I've been running one of these TurfEx TS300 spreaders for a couple years and have no complaints. https://www.turfexproducts.com/equi...rs-sprayers/equipment-mounted-spreaders/ts300

I think they're all going to be decent as long as you're not putting it through the rigors of commercial use. But the one thing I'd say is stick with a poly hopper. Metal hoppers, unless stainless, are going to rust out over time if you spread fertilizer and don't clean/oil properly.

Thats a really nice spreader! im going to do a little reading on those.

The spreader i get needs to be a hitch mount type spreader because ill be putting it on a UTV gator or maverick. Also i have a tractor so i was thinking about just getting a 3 point spreader but i would probably be more efficient with one on the UTV for doing small plots. Any of you guys just use a 3 point hitch one on your tractors or do you prefer the ATV/UTV ones?

jagermeister

Dignitary Member
Supporting Member
Ohio