Welcome to TheOhioOutdoors
Wanting to join the rest of our members? Login or sign up today!
Login / Join

Beginner Compound Bow Recommendations

Isaacorps

Columbus
I’m kicking around buying a compound bow and making the switch from crossbow for hunting. I have some experience shooting from when I was younger but not really much to speak of. I’ve been doing a lot of reading and researching on which bows are the best for beginners and have narrowed it down to one that really catches my eye. I’m looking for something that has a lot of adjustability and is somewhat forgiving for a new shooter. The one that I’m really looking hard at is the Diamond Archery Edge SB-1. I like that it is made by Bowtech and seems to be very well made. I may be completely off in thinking that this would be a good option for me but that’s why I’m putting it out there for different opinions. I know I will get a lot of opinions and solid advice from you guys on here who are much more knowledgeable about these things than I am. This isn't something that I’m necessarily going to be doing in the immediate future but definitely something I’m thinking of doing in the best year or so. I plan to get my hands on this one and some others as I know there’s a lot to be said for how a bow feels as well. Thanks in advance...

Sgt Fury

Sgt. Spellchecker
1AF57047-E044-4978-9C2D-95C16FE43C19.png

Isaacorps

Columbus
Also, a taller brace height would probably be a good idea until you get back in form.
Nate, this particular bow has a 7” brace height. Is that a reasonable place to start? Also, how do you feel about Diamond as a brand in general? I’m planning on going to the local shop and talking to the guys and do some shooting sometime soon as well

Fletch

Supporting Member