Welcome to TheOhioOutdoors
Wanting to join the rest of our members? Login or sign up today!
Login / Join

Coyote Calling Tactics

Thunderflight

Dignitary Member
Shermans Dale, PA
This year I'm planning on putting effort into coyote hunting. Our deer season closes during mid January and it seems their activity peeks between now and the end of February. Fox season is also in until the end of Feb too.

I've been reading that coyote sounds actually work better than distress calls. I have had them bark back at coyote sounds, but the only success with distress calling was for a couple foxes (just happened to be the day after the season closed).

I have also read that for eastern yotes it is better to set up inside the woods vise in an open field.

If anyone has any suggestions on what calls to use I'd appreciate the help.

Bigslam51

Dignitary Member
Supporting Member
Stark County
I'll get back on this later, I'm in the stand now. I'm no pro by any means but my buddy and I rarely get skunked on a yote hunt.

Bigslam51

Dignitary Member
Supporting Member
Stark County