Welcome to TheOhioOutdoors
Wanting to join the rest of our members? Login or sign up today!
Login / Join

Hung up Turkey, What’s your go to?

teenbowhunter

Delaware County
This morning on a new property (that I can only hunt for one week) I had two toms sit in an open field gobbling at my decoys at 101 yards in the same spot for 45 minutes straight. I tried everything I could think of with calling. My inclination is to bring some fishing line and a stake so I can make one of the decoys move to bring them in tonight/tomorrow if it happens again.

What is your go to move for hung up birds? I’m mostly self taught so I don’t know a lot of tricks.

Carpn

*Supporting Member*
Wooster
Stopping calling works sometimes. Calling hard works sometimes. If you stop calling they may come . They may leave . If they leave get up and circle them and try a different set up . I don't usually get too aggressive . If you don't kill em keep it in your mind where they were and set up there next time .

Sgt Fury

Sgt. Spellchecker
If you are hunting with someone, try setting up in the spot that the Toms like to strut, while your partner sets up in the spot that you normally do. If that doesn’t work, try ditching the decoys and have your hunting partner call to them from about 60 yards behind you. They may come closer because they can’t see the hens and if they hang up again, they may be in range of you....just make sure your hunting partner knows where you are at and will not shoot in that direction. If you don’t have a partner, try calling softly without decoys....as they come closer, either call softer to make it sound like you are going away from them, or stop calling all together. This may make them come closer to check things out. Good luck!

Reactions: teenbowhunter