Welcome to TheOhioOutdoors
Wanting to join the rest of our members? Login or sign up today!
Login / Join

My layering options

Hedgelj

Supporting Member
Mohicanish
So I mentioned I would do this on another thread so here I am. I have a blend of good quality products and items I got from my time working for Uncle Sam.

Base-layer - Merino, mainly Icebreaker and definitely merino socks.

If I'm going to be wearing a normal outfit (think early season, most of turkey season, etc) I'm wearing a set of my multi-cam army blouse and pants. I feel multi-cam works well in Ohio during most of the year, and you can't beat the permethrin impregnation either. And it was the right price until I blow them out. During turkey season I have a set of the combat pants that I put knee pads in because I'm more likely to want that added comfort. Under my blouse I'm also likely to wear a windproof icebreaker vest because it truly does ad degrees of comfort on a breezy day.

On my upper body my next layer to wear is a perseverance survival wooby hoody. I like how small I can pack it down and how incredibly warm it is. What I do not like is that the material is "shinier" than my other layers. Not sure if it bothers the wildlife though. I also have my brown fleece jacket from the Army cold weather system that I'll break out as it gets colder and layer with.

My final layer depends on the season and the weather. I may rock out my first lite rain gear, my sitka windproof layer, my sitka blaze orange jacket or a very heavy orange camo jacket I've had for years depending on my needs.

On my head goes from ballcap to boonie cap to stocking caps.

Lower body layers are much more simplistic.
I occasionally will add a fleece pair of pants over my baselayer if its cold and i"m sitting all day with minimal walk in.