Welcome to TheOhioOutdoors
Wanting to join the rest of our members? Login or sign up today!
Login / Join

What's your experience with O/U shotguns?

I'm considering the purchase of a less expensive O/U shotgun. My choices have been [my first choice]>>> Stoeger Longfowler (30" barrels), Stevens Gold Wing (28" barrels) and Savage 555 (28" barrels). My primary use for this shotgun will be sporting clays. However, I'm not ruling out waterfowl hunting.

What's your experience with O/U shotguns for sporting clays and waterfowl hunting?
Thank you, Bowhunter57

Sgt Fury

Sgt. Spellchecker
I’ve got a browning citori in 20 gauge that I’ve shot skeet with but mostly use for rabbit hunting. It handles real well but other than that, I can’t help....never took it for sporting clays or waterfowl. Would definitely get a 12 gauge if I were to go duck hunting.

hickslawns

Dignitary Member
Supporting Member
Ohio
I've got no experience with waterfowl. I have enjoyed my O/U for sporting clays and have used it for turkey hunting. Franci. Not the cheapest. Far from the most expensive. For a $700-900 price range it has been impressive to me. I will also be the first to admit I have never done a side by side comparison to anything else. If you lined up 3-4 comparables, I might spit on it. Someone on here has got to be better versed in O/U's than I am.

brock ratcliff

Dignitary Member
Supporting Member
I’ve got three. A Baretta that I bought from Geezer. A Stoeger that Mason bought at a Pheasants Forever banquet and a Mossberg Silver reserve They are all functional. And they all shoot just two shells when occasionally I’d like to shoot three. I’ve used them exclusively for dove and pheasant hunting, with only a limited number of rounds fired at backyard clays. Sorry I’m not more help.
Here is an “action” photo of one of them. It looks like the silver reserve but I’m not certain.
2CC455BA-7FBA-4554-B510-32F13D3D42D0.jpeg

"J"

Git Off My Lawn
Supporting Member
North Carolina