Welcome to TheOhioOutdoors
Wanting to join the rest of our members? Login or sign up today!
Login / Join

Flocking/airbrushing

Asa.garand

So I have been into flocking for a little while, not sure how much it actually helps. I recently started airbrushing and this is my first attempt. I am thinking in the places I hunt 5 or 6 fully flocked and brushed deeks with one fixed with my secret weapon will make a difference. Anyone else here paint/flock their own deeks?

Picture is standard Flambeau cheapos, one before and one after.

jagermeister

Dignitary Member
Supporting Member
Ohio
If I had more time I could see myself getting into it. Good stuff.

Not bad, but if I may offer some constructive criticism, it's way too dark in my opinion. Spend some time observing real birds on the water, in various levels of light. The CONTRAST of the colors is what really stands out at a distance. The light colors on ducks, especially the whites, is what really pops and is what real birds key in on when coming in to land. Don't get me wrong... I think dark colors have their place too in certain conditions. I like to add black ducks to my spread for this reason. However if you make all your decoys look as dark as the one above you're going to be sacrificing a lot of realism in your spread. Keep at it... Practice makes perfect!

Asa.garand

If I had more time I could see myself getting into it. Good stuff.