Welcome to TheOhioOutdoors
Wanting to join the rest of our members? Login or sign up today!
Login / Join

Paper Tuning Convert!

I recently visited a local archery pro shop, in Minster. Bill Ernst has ran The Archery Shop for many years and his experience shows in his customer service!

I took my Martin Cheetah ('09 model, single cam), to have new strings and cables installed. After the installation, Bill had me shoot the bow through his paper tuning set up. After a few changes to the string loop, I had a perfect bullet hole with fletching cuts. This method of tuning has shown me why I've had broadhead flight problems, in past years. I have my own paper tuning set up, as of my experiences with this one. I'm officially converted to using this method for arrow flight tuning.

Bowhunter57

jagermeister

Dignitary Member
Supporting Member
Ohio
Glad to hear it went well and it sounds like you have confidence in your setup. That is what's most important. Me, personally, I'm not a proponent of spending a lot of time shooting through paper. There's just too many ways to screw it up... Poor form, torquing the grip, underspined or overspined arrows, fletching/rest contact, etc. Too many people get a poor or inconsistent tear, so they end up chasing their tails, trying to remedy a problem that may not even be there. I like bare shaft tuning and walk-behind tuning. To each his own.

Reactions: bowhunter1023

bowhunter1023

Owner/Operator
Staff member
Appalachia
Paper tuning is just one tool of many you should be using and I don't recommend it for people with poor form and/or people who can't shoot the same arrow 3 times in a row. Like JB said, it can cause you to chase your tail if your form and consistency sucks.

Glad it worked out for you. Confidence in your equipment is paramount to anything else.

Reactions: jagermeister

Milo

Tatonka guide.