Welcome to TheOhioOutdoors
Wanting to join the rest of our members? Login or sign up today!
Login / Join

This Old Knight

Wildlife

Denny
Supporting Member
Ross County, Ohio
Just so everyone knows, I'm a newbie to the muzzy world...

My father-in-law gave me his old 50cal 'Knight' muzzleloader two years ago. He retired from hunting nearly twenty years ago.

He killed one deer with it years ago with a single 80 yard shot, using #11 percussion cap, 90 grains of 'Elephant Black Powder' & Hornady .490cal lead round ball.
1.jpg

Anyhow, I used this muzzleloader in the original configuration that you see above, but never had the opportunity to take a shot at any deer with it as of yet.

I've used this muzzleloader twice and each time, I didn't feel very confident with it.

I had a couple of issues with it firing in damp/cold conditions, which made me feel real uneasy.

So this year, I wanted to make some changes to the "Old Knight" and make it my own.

I did a lot of reading on the 'Blackhorn 209 Muzzleloader Propellent/Powder' and the 209 ignition systems for 'Knight' muzzleloaders.

After all the research, I had a good idea what I wanted to do so I went ahead and purchased the following items about a month ago.
  • Grey, Black, White RUST-OLEUM Spray Paint
  • Snow Camo Quake Claw Sling with Swivels Nylon
  • Leupold 2-Piece Rifleman Scope Base Weaver-Style Knight LK-93
  • Leupold 1" Detachable Rifleman See-Thru Rings Weaver-Style
  • Butler Creek Scope Covers
  • Knight 209 Conversion Ignition System
  • Kick Eez Recoil Pad Grind to Fit 301-5-L-B All Purpose 1/2" Large Black
  • Williams Fire Sight Set Knight Rifle Red Bead Aluminim Black Fiber Optic Green
  • Barnes Spit-Fire TMZ Muzzleloading Bullet 50 Caliber Sabot with 45 Caliber PolymerTip Boat Tail Lead-Free Box of 24
  • Federal Premium Prinmers #209 Muzzleloading Box of 100
  • Blackhorn 209 Black Powder/Propellant 10oz.
  • Blackhorn 209 Black Powder/Propellant Measuring Tubes 6