Welcome to TheOhioOutdoors
Wanting to join the rest of our members? Login or sign up today!
Login / Join

Fishing on and off days?

This is my first year ice fishing, but I've been hunting and fishing since my feet hit the ground. Granted there are days when the fishing is great and there are days when they're just not hitting like the usually do. Even on the slow days, I've always caught fish...sometimes it just takes longer to figure out what they like/want.

Yesterday I was on several farm ponds and couldn't catch a single fish. :smiley_depressive: I've never been shut out, while fishing.

Are there days of ice fishing that you're just not going to catch fish...no matter what you throw at them? :smiley_confused_vra
Reasons: Too cold? Lunar phases? Too dark...poor visibility (overcast days)?

Thank you, Bowhunter57

Gern186

Dignitary Member
Supporting Member
NW Ohio Tundra
Same thing happened here last weekend. We had 2 vexilars running and it took an hour to find some fish. 3 of us fished for 2 hours and only caught a couple fish. I think they just didn't want to bite that particular day due to barometric pressure or who knows what else???? Kind of discouraging when you put the bait in front of them and they swim up to it and then don't bite.

Gern186 said:
We had 2 vexilars running and it took an hour to find some fish. 3 of us fished for 2 hours and only caught a couple fish.
I got a fish finder on my list for next year's ice fishing. At least you found fish and new they were down there. It's still frustrating, but knowing they're there helps.

Good hunting, Bowhunter57

Gern186

Dignitary Member
Supporting Member
NW Ohio Tundra
I got a fish finder on my list for next year's ice fishing. At least you found fish and new they were down there. It's still frustrating, but knowing they're there helps.