Welcome to TheOhioOutdoors
Wanting to join the rest of our members? Login or sign up today!
Login / Join

Skull cap help needed!

Didn't see a taxidermy forum so taking a shot putting this here...

Shot an 8-point on Saturday morning on Central Ohio public land. Took it to the processor and requested the head back for a Euro mount...they must not read English because I went to pickup yesterday and got only the skull cap back. Was planning on doing the Euro mount myself (the boil and peel method, which I've never done before). Since I only got a skull cap back I'm not sure how, if at all, it needs to be treated differently? It still has hair/skin on it. Does this need peeled off? Can I just set it in borax for a few weeks and then mount as is? Any help would be great.

Reactions: Wildlife

brock ratcliff

Dignitary Member
Supporting Member
I’ve seen skull caps with the hair still attached but they were always laying in a barn or something. If you want to display it you should remove the hair and meat, I’d think. Congratulations on the deer.

I’ve seen skull caps with the hair still attached but they were always laying in a barn or something. If you want to display it you should remove the hair and meat, I’d think. Congratulations on the deer.
Thanks...after seeing some of the pics from you, Spencie, and others in the live from the stand thread and your personal hunt journals I'm a little sheepish to share the pics, despite it being the biggest deer I've shot with a bow.

Jackalope

Dignitary Member
Staff member
Thanks...after seeing some of the pics from you, Spencie, and others in the live from the stand thread and your personal hunt journals I'm a little sheepish to share the pics, despite it being the biggest deer I've shot with a bow.

Nonsense! A trophy is in the eye of the beholder and everyone loves seeing dead deer! Any self ritious prick that would ridicule you for your buck wouldn't find this place much fun after that. Share away man.